A Love Letter to the Waves

The sea shapes sharp shards of glass into smooth and rounded fragments, and I remember on that cloudy day walking side by side on the sand you said to me -the sea can soothe your soul and calm your heart. It made me think of the negative space surrounding your body, the way your back curves slightly like a wave which makes me believe that you were once a rugged rock that got lost at sea. The waves shaped you and smothered you but you refused to drown. The sea carved your atoms into a sleek pebble that lives on my shelf. The salty mixture of violence and vehemence rushes through your veins but when the sun sets over your body my breath is stolen from me and you make me forget about everything […] and the solar system is mine once more.

as the sea gently kisses the shore.

 

Leave a Reply

