Adapting

Food diary for the past day or so?
– Porridge with hot water, 2 avocados (one whole as a snack) one chopped in salad, shoulder bacon chopped in the salad, half a watermelon, and beer. (maybe five)

I feel healthier, as I am eating so much better. I can’t afford to buy milk to carry around and allow to go off as I am hostel hopping daily, so anything with hot water is brilliant.
Fruit is cheap if you go to the right supermarket, and I am enjoying the fresh food diet. I do get the odd chocolate craving, but I am (for the first time in a long time) not yearning for processed food. With that, I’ve lost some weight and am feeling a huge, positive difference on the horizon.

Another westernized love that is limited is coffee. I can get coffee, but do I really want to spend $4-$7 on one coffee, when that could buy me my lunch and dinner from a supermarket?! I’ve noticed a difference without caffeine, I feel tired at times but not sluggish. It’s very interesting, as at work I used to drink 3-5 cups a day. My energy is coming from fruit and the sun – much healthier.

I still haven’t smoked! I am actually very proud of myself. With the added aid of my beauty of a travel partner, Eloise. She is such a perfect person to travel with, she’s fantastic with budgeting and always has a positive aurora about her. Being with her reminds me why she is one of my best friends and knows me so well.

I feel inspired by Liz from the Eat, Pray, Love novel. She goes traveling and faces a lot of hardship, but she has gone to focus on herself – and that’s what my trip is all about. I don’t need romance, work stress, or looks. I need nature, fun, writing and the odd beer or five.

I have decided to turn my phone off for a few days as I’ve had too many distractions of old relationships and new possibilities trying to push into my thoughts. As Buddha would say –

“The past is already gone, the future is not yet here. There’s only one moment for you to live, and that is the present moment.”

– Gautama Buddha

Leave a Reply

