Embers of Allure

Here’s a little song I have written, I haven’t ever attempted to write song lyrics as I haven’t been influenced by the combination of melody and writing before, I feel it’s fun and flows well in my head – may add a few more verses but I had so much fun rolling with word play such as sibilence, euphonics, plosives, fricatives and alliteration with a quick metre and rhyme scheme. It’s made me feel brilliant (in a devilish/I can’t sing but I like to write poems kind of way.)

#1                                      You burnt away the whole of me, and renewed my flame to my name
                                     Fire kindled ferociously, sweet like a honey-lover’s lover supposedly
                                         Dulled by defected decisions, and burnt by mis-guided visions
                                                       I was simply relighting, realising, revitalising 
                                                             Proud to shroud myself in mysteries 
                                                     To believe in my own histories, of love
                                                                                       Pleasure and peace
                                                               Only to iron out the crease 
                                                           Creases of complications, caution and care

                         Oh sir you burnt away the whole of me, and renewed my flame to my name
                                                   Douse the blaze to unravel the maze
                                    Only to be infused by us once more, beyond euphoric galore
                                    Of what to be loved, hugged and free of the unloved
                                              I was simply relighting, realising, revitalising 
                                                        Proud to shroud myself in mysteries 
                                              To believe in my own histories, of love
                                                             Pleasure and peace
                                                     Only to iron out the crease 
                                                 Creases of complications, caution and care
                                                    This ones for me, Ethel Volér and I’m in my own snare.

Leave a Reply

