“And the first rude sketch that the world had seen was joy to his mighty heart, till the Devil whispered behind the leaves ‘It’s pretty, but is it Art?’.”

– Rudyard Kipling

I love the rhythm within this quote and the juxtaposition between mighty and devil – you could always link both might and devil together depending on what view you have. It ends up being a contradiction of art, is art pretty or is it something disgusting, grotesque and meek? I also Iike how ‘Art’ is a proper noun, so it’s more significant like a person or a place.

10 second ramble over. I’m off for a run and I’m booking my flights today/tomorrow for my travels. I can’t contain my excitement!

Leave a Reply

